Navy Officer Ranks Analysis and Review

Navy officer ranks systems are often quite different from those of air forces or armies. Commissioned officers don’t enlist. Instead, they serve indefinitely at the preference of the President of the U.S.A. The officers hold a commission that charge them with the duties and responsibilities of each of their specific ranks. Officer ranks here comprise of warrant officers (experts and specialists in certain military capabilities or technologies) and commissioned officers. It is the senate that confirms the promotion of officers. Here are some of the navy officer ranks.

Navy Officer Ranks: Warrant Officers (CWO2, CWO3, CWO4, and CWO5)

The positions under this rank involve application of both technical and leadership skills against primary management functions. It is only the senior enlisted personnel (paygrade E6 and above) that can apply for Navy’s Warrant Officer Programs. Since they have a minimum of thirteen enlisted service years before commissioning, they possess great wealth of leadership and technical experience. This enables them to fully understand requirements of the enlisted technicians they are in charge of, and work comfortably and closely with them. At sea, they are in charge, and the Navy depends profoundly on them to facilitate and supervise the repair and maintenance of all the types of equipment during lengthy deployments.

Navy officer ranks

Navy Officer Ranks: Ensign (ENS, 01)

This is the initial Commissioned Officer’s rank that is held by graduates of the U.S. Naval Academy(USNA), Officer Candidate School(OCS), Navy Reserve Officers Training Corps (NROTC), among other commissioning sources. Normally, most Ensigns are always in various schools, going through training for their respective staff specialties or warfare. Others who serve in the Fleets are Division Officers.

Navy Officer Ranks: Lieutenant, Junior Grade (LTJG, 02)

Promotion to this rank occurs 2 years after you commission as an Ensign. Some officers in this rank may still be in various schools training for their respective staff specialty or warfare. Others may be already serving as Division Officers in the Fleet.


Navy Officer Ranks: Lieutenant, (LT, 03)

This are usually a Division Officers or service heads on some smaller ships, submarines, aircraft squadrons, and ships. They serve as Division officers. In certain commands, senior Lieutenant serve as Department heads, and for seal teams, they are Platoon Leaders just like ENS and LTJGs.


Lieutenant Commander (LCDR, 04)

These are Department Heads or executive Officers on a ship, submarine, or aircraft squadron. On SEAL teams, they serve as the Executive Officers. Some of the officers serve as Commanding Officers of patrol crafts or Minesweepers.


Navy Officer Ranks: Commander (CDR, 05)

A CDR is a senior officer, and can command a Frigate, Fast Attack Submarine, Destroyer, Smaller Amphibious ship, SEAL team, Aviation Squadron, or shore installation.