A guide to the US Navy Ranks Officer

Introduction About US Navy Ranks

The US Navy Ranks is one of the seven recognized uniformed services. The Navy’s origins can be traced back to the Continental Navy that was used in America’s Revolutionary War. Its destiny to be the most powerful army in the world has been fulfilled. It is the largest and most esteemed navy in the world, as well as one of the most funded. It is comprised of over 430,000 personnel, more than 3700 aircraft carriers and almost 300 surface and underwater vessels. The US Navy Ranks have bravely fought in numerous American conflicts, as well as aided in numerous humanitarian endeavors. Currently, it is overseen by the Department of the Navy, a branch of the Department of Defense.Notable Americans who served in the navy include John F. Kennedy, Richard Nixon, and John Kerry.

All of the officers in the navy have various ranks. They are ranked by pay-grades, which is a system that delineates how much pay an employee receives. Several factors play into this, including the job responsibilities, how much authority that person carries, and how long that employee has been performing their specific job.Visually, the US Navy Ranks ranks are distinguished based on their rank insignia that is displayed on their uniforms.

US Navy Ranks Officer

Warrant Officers For US Navy Ranks

Warrant officers are officers above the most senior enlisted ranks, including cadets, midshipment, warrant officer candidates (WOC), and officer candidates (OC). However, they are ranked lower than officers with the grade of O-1.Warrant officer positions are abbreviated as follows: CWO2, CWO3, CWO4, CWO5, with CWO2 being the most junior Commissioned office rank. All warrant officers are appointed to their grade, and have a trial period assigned to them.

Commissioned Officers & US Navy Ranks

Commissioned officers have paygrades from O-1 to O-10, with O-1 being the lowest pay grade. The titles of the ranks are as follows: Ensign, Lieutenant (junior Grade), Lieutenant,Lieutenant Commander, Commander, Captain, Rear Admiral (lower half), Rear admiral, Vice Admiral, Admiral. Past that there are two special pay grades reserved for the Fleet Admiral and the Admiral of the Navy. Fleet Admirals are designations that are only used during wartime. It has not been assigned since World War II.George Dewey was the only person who has held the position of Admiral of the Navy. It was awarded to him after his role in the victory at Manila Bay.Pay ranks O-1 through O-4 are junior officers. O-5 and O-6 are considered senior officers. O-7 through O-10 are considered flag officers.Officers get promoted when they demonstrate that they are capable of performing at the next higher rank. Then their pay grade increases.